HOSA Students Win at Nationals

Congratulations to the RRTC students who competed at the HOSA International Leadership Conference this summer in Orlando, Florida! The following students placed in their respective contests:

Marissa Beeson, Charlie Romero, and Stephanie Carrasco – 1st Place in Community Awareness Project (Post-Secondary). Marissa, Charlie and Stephanie each completed the 12 month Practical Nursing program this summer.

Micah Elroy – Top Ten in Prepared Speaking (Secondary Student). Micah completed the Biomedical Science Academy in May.

Congratulations again to you all!

Share This Post
44th Practical Nursing Class Graduates

44th Practical Nursing Class Graduates

Red River Technology Center Graduates 44th Practical Nursing Class


Nineteen Practical Nursing students from Red River Technology Center recently received their pins and diplomas during a graduation ceremony held June 20, 2019, at the Delbert E. Morrison Health Careers Building Auditorium.


Superintendent Dennis Loafman and Assistant Superintendent Brook Holding delivered the welcome to the crowd of graduates, family and friends. Members of the 44th Practical Nursing class were then honored for their year of hard work with numerous scholarships and other achievement awards.


Red River Technology Center’s counselor, Misty Wade, recognized the graduates who had previously received scholarships and awards from organizations.


The following organizations have previously awarded scholarships: the Duncan Regional Hospital Auxiliary; Hugh H. Cherry VFW 1192 and Auxiliary to Post 1192; John E. Lillard Scholarship; Owl Club of Duncan; Oklahoma Career Tech Foundation; Otha Grimes Scholarship; Jerry Morris Scholarship Committee; The Duncan Breakfast Optimist Organization; Physicians Manpower Training Commission; Martha Overstreet and the Philanthropic Education Organization (BK, EE, FJ, and GS Chapters); Horatio Alger, Rodney Love/Next Step; and Oklahoma’s Promise Scholarships.


Those receiving awards on the night of graduation were:


Saela Sullins and Suzanne Greeson, were voted Outstanding Fellow Classmates by their peers.


Carly Mann received the Award for Outstanding Theory Knowledge and Kristi LaFerr received the Award for Outstanding Clinical Practice.  Duncan Regional Hospital received an award for Best Clinical Facility, and Julia Kosechata received the Mountain Mover award.


Jessica Church, Tiffany Cummings, Tina Riggs and Rickey Wylie represented the top 10 percent of the 2018-2019 Practical Nursing class and were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society.


Outstanding Students for the Practical Nursing Program this year were Ana Gomez, Suzanne Greeson, Charlie Romero and Saela Sullins.


Practical Nursing Director Amanda Churchman, RN, introduced the graduates while Program Director Sylvia Loveday presented diplomas. Practical Nursing instructors Krissy Bohn, RN, and Liz Baxter, RN, presented nursing pins to the graduates, while each graduate was pinned by a member of their family.


The 2018-2019 graduates are: Marissa Beeson, Stephanie Carrasco, Jessica Church, Tiffany Cummings, Ana Gomez, Suzanne Greeson, Kassie Hekia, Ashley Idell, Jonathan Johnson, Melanie Kohler, Kristi LaFerr, Kaylee Land, Carly Mann, Tina Riggs, Charlie Romero, Dane Smith, Amber Spaulding, Saela Sullins, and Rickey Wylie.

Share This Post
Outstanding Students Named

Outstanding Students Named

Fifty-two RRTC students were recently recognized as Outstanding Students by their instructors at the annual school awards ceremony. Outstanding students are:

Automotive Collision: Triston Moore, Gus Wrape, Alex Vanderburg, and James Waggoner

Automotive Service: Garrett Dodson, Jesus Hernandez, Patrick Woody, and Ryan Wooley

Biomedical Science Academy: Alli Spurlock, Kali Treat, Nathan Wright, Rebecca Bailey, and Trey Hunt

Business: Kaitlin Hillin and Heather Pitcock

Computer-Aided Drafting: David Barton, Jessica Jones, Alec Norton, and Jonathan Lindstrom

Carpentry: Dylan Lee, Ryan Becker, and Bryce Johnson

CNC Machining: Dustin Lindsey and Caitlyn Ashford

Cosmetology: Cathleen Haas and Michaela Taylor

Electronics Technology: Liam Johnson, Mitchell Moore, Makenzie Terrell, Kody Arrington, and Nicholas Bollig

Health Careers: Cheyenne Rodriguez, Cheyenne Pope, Amber Tugmon, Hailee Wheatley, Charlcie Parker, Jerron Beck, Kiersten Collins, Kathline Seward, Reagan Julian, and Cheslyn Hesbrook.

Residential Heating and Air Conditioning: Stephanie Mason and Trevor Henderson

Practical Nursing: Ana Gomez, Suzanne Greeson, Charlie Romero, and Saela Sullins

Pre-Engineering Academy: Gavin Banks and Hunter DeVoe

Welding: Braden Edens, Rein Mayo, and Kyler Meadows


Share This Post
Students Awarded Rodney J. Love Scholarship

Students Awarded Rodney J. Love Scholarship

Four students were awarded the Rodney J. Love Scholarship during the RRTC Awards Ceremony held May 2. Receiving the $250.00 scholarships were: Reagan Julian, Health Careers; Justin Miller, Pre-Engineering Academy; Heather Pitcock, Business; and Bryce Johnson, Carpentry. The scholarship is given in memory of Love, who served on the RRTC School Board prior to his passing.

Share This Post
Duncan Class of 1968 Awards Scholarship

Duncan Class of 1968 Awards Scholarship

Three members of the Duncan High School class of 1968 awarded RRTC Health Careers student Tayler Janz with the first “Class of 1968” scholarship. The scholarship, worth $600.00 was presented by class of 1968 members Gretchen White, Kyle Collins, and Cheryl Sims. The group raised funds for the scholarship during their 50 year reunion.

Share This Post